Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Bike to the Run to the Top??


Run to the Top has become so, so.... uni-dimensional! The race consists of running 8 miles to the top of Mount Baldy, starting at 6000 ft and ending at 10,000ft. Fire roads and wide open trails for the first half then single track, technical stuff to the top. Problem is you have to kill yourself at the beginning so that you are ahead of almost everyone before the technical stuff starts. Because at the technical point all those street runners start to get nervous they are going to fall to their doom! This accompanied with the lack of oxygen going to their brains make them slow and unwilling to let superior runners (Trail Runners!) pass them. Then take up the whole trail, keep at least one hand in contact with some earth and generally whimper as they run.
Now I am a “diesel’ type athlete, start up is slow, build up is steady and I can go forever so this race does not suit me. So how can I spice it up?? How about I bike to the run to the top! Brilliant!
So I am going to test out my plan this Friday, August 19th. Initial staging at my house, then bike it up to Baldy, then run to the top, Ha I am a genius.
Whose in??

No comments: